Posted by: jayliotta | January 11, 2008

House of the Rising Sun

“Are you guys taking some kind of pictures or something?” our stewardess asked me, glancing at the tripod in my hands.  I laughed to myself and offered a hasty explanation as I took my first step off the plane into a gust of hot wind.  We were finally here.

After meeting Alfred at our hotel (“Like the butler in Batman,” he explained) we followed Kelly’s lead and headed down into the French Quarter. We stopped at the Acme Oyster House for dinner. Despite my complete dislike for oysters, they looked too appetizing to pass up.  They were better than they looked.

As a group, we walked down Bourbon Street. One of the local bars was blasting The Animal’s “House of the Rising Sun”, which I felt was fitting. We grabbed a bite to eat at the Café du Monde, and then made our way back to the hotel just as it started to rain.

By the time we made it back to the hotel the rain had gone from a light drizzle to a downpour. I looked up to the statue of Robert E. Lee as we passed through Lee Circle, and wondered to myself how much of this column was swallowed up by the flooding after Hurricane Katrina hit. The mere thought that so much of what we saw today was submerged under water over two years ago seems unimaginable. I look forward to meeting the people who experienced this nightmare, and I only hope they will want to share their stories with us.

Leave a Reply

Categories

